Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2019 [ODI]

Cricket World Cup Winners From 1975 to 2019 [ODI]

The ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List is from the inaugural edition held in 1975 to the latest one held in 2019, including other details, such as host, scores, runners-up, winning margin, and final venue.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI Format)
YearWinnerHosting CountryRunner-up
1975West IndiesEnglandAustralia
1979West IndiesEnglandEngland
1983IndiaEnglandWest Indies
1987AustraliaIndia and PakistanEngland
1992PakistanAustralia and New ZealandEngland
1996Sri LankaPakistan and IndiaAustralia
2003AustraliaSouth AfricaIndia
2007AustraliaWest IndiesSri Lanka
2011IndiaIndia and BangladeshSri Lanka
2015AustraliaAustralia and New ZealandNew Zealand
2019EnglandEngland and WalesNew Zealand

Men’s T20I Cricket World Cup Winners List – From 2007 to 2022

The first edition of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup started in 2007. The latest T20 Cricket World Cup was conducted in 2022. The table below illustrates T20 Cricket World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022, which was the latest.

YearWinnerRunner-upHosting Country
2021AustraliaNew ZealandUAE & Oman
2016West IndiesEnglandIndia
2014Sri LankaIndiaBangladesh
2012West IndiesSri LankaSri Lanka
2010EnglandAustraliaWest Indies
2009PakistanSri LankaEngland
2007IndiaPakistanSouth Africa

Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List

Check out the details about the Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1973 to 2022. Learn about the top female run scorers, the host country, and more.

2013AustraliaWest Indies
2009EnglandNew Zealand
2000New ZealandAustralia
1997AustraliaNew Zealand
1993EnglandNew Zealand

World Cup Winners List (Country Wise)

As far as country-wise winners are concerned, Australia has won the ICC ODI World Cup trophy five times, which makes them the most successful winning team. West Indies and India follow them in the World Cup winners’ cricket ODI.

  • Both these teams have won the trophy twice each.
  • England is the winner of the last World Cup tournament held in 2019 and is the trophy’s current champion.
  • They are the first hosting country to have won the trophy.

Here is the list of country-wise ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List:

TeamAppearances in FinalWinnersYears Won
Australia751987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
West Indies321975, 1979
India321983, 2011
Sri Lanka311996
  • The next ICC Cricket World Cup will be held in 2023 in India.
  • It remains to be seen whether India can win the cup for the third time and become the second host country after England to achieve this honour.
  • But as of now, the six countries mentioned in the above list of cricket world cup winners since 1975 have etched their names in cricketing history.
More Current Affairs Topics
T20 World Cup Winners ListIPL Winners List
10 Wickets In An Innings12000 Runs In ODI
CSK Players ListAsia Cup Winners List
Syed Mushtaq Ali TrophyT20 World Cup Points Table
Ranji Trophy Winners ListDouble Century In ODI

Women’s Cricket T20 World Cup Winners List

The oldest world sports championship is the Women’s Cricket World Cup. It got first held in 1973 in England, two years before the men’s world cup began. The Women’s Cricket World gets qualified through the ICC Women’s Championship and the World Cup Qualifier.

Women’s T20 World Cup Winners
YearWinnerRunners UpHost
2009EnglandNew ZealandEngland
2010AustraliaNew ZealandWest Indies
2012AustraliaEnglandSri Lanka
2016West IndiesAustraliaIndia
2018AustraliaEnglandWest Indies
2022South Africa

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners – Captains List

The captain of any cricket team plays an essential role in winning an ICC trophy. Below is the world cup winners list mentioning the captains of the respective years from 1975 to 2019.

YearWorld Cup Winner List – CaptainsWinner
1975Clive LloydWest Indies
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1983Kapil DevIndia
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1996Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
1999Steve WaughAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2019Eoin MorganEngland

ICC World Cup Winners List – Facts and Figures

  • Twelve teams participated in ICC Men’s tournaments, including India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Ireland, Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, West Indies, and Sri Lanka.
  • Australia won the highest number of World Cup Titles for both Men and Women’s tournaments.
  • India and Australia succeeded in the World cup in 50 and 60 overs.
  • India is the only country that won the Men’s World Cup for 20 overs, 50 overs, and 60 overs.

FAQs about Cricket World Cup Winners List

How many teams have participated in the ODI Cricket World Cups?

Twenty teams have participated in the ODI Cricket World Cups held so far. The ICC Cricket World Cup is the 13th edition of the men’s Cricket World Cup in 2023, which will be hosted in India in October and November.

How many countries have made it to the Cricket World Cup Winners List since 1975?

Six countries have been included in the world cup winners list since 1975. These are West Indies, India, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England.

Which country heads the ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List?

Australia heads the ICC World Cup Cricket winners list after winning five times. Not only this, the country became the runner-up 2 times. Behind Australia, India, and West Indies won the Worl Cup title 2 times.

How many times did India win the World Cup?

Indian cricket team won two times in World Cup Events; one was in 1983 under Kapil dev captaincy and another in 2011 under M.S.Dhoni captaincy. India won over Sri Lanka in the 2011 Cricket World Cup. They were runners-up at the Cricket World Cup in 2003 and semifinalists in 1987, 1996, 2015, and 2019.

Who won the 2022 T20 World Cup?

England is the current T20 World Cup holder, having defeated Pakistan in the 2022 final, winning their Second title.

How many types of World Cups are there in world cricket?

There is a total of three formats of Cricket. These include Test Cricket, One Day International Cricket (ODI), and Twenty20 International Cricket. All three types are played at the international level.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.